• Trilz
  • Posts
  • I’m an ambitious 19-year old

I’m an ambitious 19-year old

What should I do?

At this point in time, ‘people are deciding between going to college (and usually working on side projects while they do so), joining a company, or starting their own startup.’

In reality, there is no right answer, and you should decide based on the circumstances of each choice.

Be driven by the “stuff” you are building to the point that you become equally grateful for both the pitfalls and accomplishments.

Because back when I was 19 years old, I could say that I was also one of those ambitious teens craving to prove something before turning 20.

I had my days where I did not have the vacant time to wash up, with 2-3 hours of sleep, and literally lost an eyebrow because of stress.

But those were the days that ignited me in building things I am passionate in. At that point, I realized that there would never be burnouts if you love what you do and how 'you can be wildly successful at anything if you are obsessed with it.'

Those days weren’t just for nothing though… because in just 6 months I built a zero start-up into 20+ employees, gave opportunities for 50+ part-timers, and had clients all over…

The lessons I learned?

  • there is no such thing as an overnight success (cliche!)

  • be aggressive

  • never compare yourself to others; be genuinely happy

As cliche as it may be: There is no such thing as an overnight success

The "stuff" didn’t just came into me one day while I was in the shower— because I’m sorry to burst your bubble, no ideas come to us that simple.

For a year, I almost locked myself in my room looking into opportunities I could possibly explore, I drowned myself with reading autobiography books and even listened to podcasts while I take baths.

Then spent another half a year, taking three jobs all at the same time.

While I was in one of those jobs, a client saw my potential and wanted me to personally take on a project. And not even having the assurance if I knew what I was doing, I asked three amazing friends to work with me— and I grabbed the opportunity of building my first start-up.

Becoming aggressive…

From then on, I learned the skill of “fake it till you make it”.

I acted as if I was an expert of a lot things when in fact I just knew surface level knowledge of it or I just came across on the topic while I was scrolling on twitter.

Yet, I acted as if I am the smartest and has years of experience in the field.

The thinking didn’t fail me though, because in just half a year… I grew the start-up exponentially. I got random messages of part-timers thanking me for giving them job opportunities and had meetings and client calls even at dawn.

Never compare yourself to others, be genuinely happy

I learned several things from that first "stuff" I built which I believe I could bring in my next venture.

The greatest thing that helped me create it was when I decided to pursue it and not caring what the judgment of others will be. It was built with confidence, not minding what others will say.

If I had, I might have not pursued it, stopping at the point of asking myself, "What if this won't be successful, what will others say?"

As I was busy building, I also became more focus on improving my own self.

From then on, I became more genuinely happy with what others have achieved as well. Because I experienced how hard it was to build, making me realize how cruel it would be to drag others down rather than helping them instead.

I realized that in order for you to succeed and be genuinely happy, you should never compare yourself to others.

We have our own timeline, some may be ahead and some may be far way back but the journey we are taking is just the most perfect fit based on our circumstance.

(P.S. The first start-up was CryptoFutura, a marketing and management agency focused on Web3 projects)

Pitching in San Mateo, California where I was one of the youngest out of the 60 founders from 27 different countries, I was the only representing the Philippines!

Where the future will lead me to…

As of this writing, I just turned 21. So I couldn’t say that I am an individual full of wisdom, since I’m sure I will create plenty more mistakes. These are just some of the lessons I learned and decided to put into writing so that you can hopefully learn from.

Just don’t give up. Don’t let any mistakes drag you down.

'The most successful people believe in themselves almost to the point of delusion, hence we should always be primarily internally driven.'

Here’s my LinkedIn, feel free to connect and share your interests, advices (to me or if I could help, why not?) or anything that you do or plan on doing!

Compound yourself

Have almost too much self-belief

Learn to think independently

Get good at “sales”

Make it easy to take risks

Focus

Work hard

Be bold

Be willful

Be hard to compete with

Build a network

You get rich by owning things

Be internally driven